WRPS Regretfully Accepts Trustee Resignation

Expand Image
Deanna Specht

Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools Board Chair, Deanna Specht has decided to step down from her duties as Board Chair and Division 3 Trustee. Trustee Specht stated in a letter to the Board that “after much reflection I have decided it is in the best interest of the Board that I step down from my duties”.

Deanna shared her wisdom with Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools since April 2008 as the Division 3 Trustee and as the representative for the Pipestone, Falun, Pigeon Lake, and Lakedell Schools. She placed a high value on education ensuring that decisions were made in the best interest of all our students.

Deanna was first elected to the Board of Trustees for Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools in 2008 and re-elected in 2010 and 2013 she has served as the Board Chair for five years. Her contribution to our division has been highly regarded and her unwavering support to her constituents and colleagues is admirable.  

“Deanna’s good sense, fairness and respect have made her an excellent trustee, it has been my most sincere honor to serve beside her” stated Vice Chair, Robbyn Erickson. 

Dr. Terry Pearson, Superintendent of Schools stated that, “Deanna’s focus was always on the students of this jurisdiction as they were her first priority; her compassion, empathy, understanding and expertise will be sorely missed”. 

The School Act states that if a vacancy occurs on a board of 6 or more trustees, the board may make provision to fill the vacancy by holding a by-election.  At the September 8, 2015 Regular Board meeting it was decided that a by-election will be conducted to fill the Division 3 Trustee vacancy.  The Division 3 By-Election will be held on November 2, 2015.


View: Media Release 2015 - Specht Resignation

Back to News