Board Meeting Highlights October 29, 2013

Board Approves Modular Request Submission
The Board approved the application requesting modular classrooms. The Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools Board Strategic Facilities Plan outlines that the Board requires additional modular classrooms in order to further the plan to consolidate the Lakedell and Pipestone schools at Falun and the Millet School into the Griffiths Scott-Middle School.

Board Organizational Meeting
The Board held their Organizational Meeting on October 29, 2013.  Board Members were administered the Oath of Office and sworn in for a four year term.  The Board Elected Trustee Deanna Specht as Board Chair and Trustee Barb Johnson as Vice-Chair. 

Trustees were appointed to committees as follows:
Human Resources ATA  – Chair: Johnson, Becker, Ollenberger
Human Resources Support/ Administration Staff: Chair: Becker, Ware
Appreciation / Recognition Committee: Erickson, Johnson, Ware
Audit Committee: Gursky, Ware
Internal Teacher Workload Committee: Ollenberger, Johnson, Specht

Additional Committee Appointments included:
ASBA for Language Education (ASBALE): Ware. ASBA Zone 4: Gursky, Canadian Parents for French (CPF): Johnson,
Community Learning Council: Johnson, Council of School Councils: Specht,  Leaders of Tomorrow: Ware, Maskwacis Education Council: Bruno, Erickson, Public School Board Association of Alberta: Johnson & Becker, Teacher/Board Advisory : Ollenberger, Specht, & Becker, Yellowhead Regional Library: Gursky, Joint City of Wetaskiwin/ WRPS Liaison Committee: Ollenberger, Erickson, Joint County of Wetaskiwin / WRPS Liaison Committee: Gursky, Becker, Joint Town of Millet / WRPS Committee: Specht, Gursky

Establishment of Board Meeting Dates & Times
The Board decided that the Regular Board meetings will the scheduled for the last Tuesday of each month commencing at 11:30 a.m. Board Committee meetings will be held on the second Tuesday of each month also commencing at 11:30 a.m.  View the 2013-Board Meeting Schedule on the Division website.

Trustee School Council Representation
Barb Johnson - Wetaskiwin Composite High School, Parkdale School
Robbyn Erickson - C.B. McMurdo, Norwood
George Ollenberger - Centennial, Early Education and Family Wellness Center, Ecole Queen Elizabeth
Karen Becker - Winfield, Alder Flats, Buck Mountain Central School, Lakedell
Deanna Specht - Pipestone, Lakedell, Pigeon Lake Regional School
Lynn Ware - Clear Vista, Gwynne
Dave Gursky - Millet School, Griffiths-Scott School

View the Board Meeting Highlights  from the October 29, 2013 Regular Board Meeting

Back to News