View School Directory

Election 2021

Polling Stations

Trustee Election Results

Become a Trustee

The Local Authorities Election Act, states that a person is eligible to be nominated as a candidate in any election under this Act if on nomination day the person

(a)   is eligible to vote

(b)   has been a resident of the local jurisdiction for 6 consecutive months immediately preceding nomination day, and

(c)    is not otherwise ineligible or disqualified

DISCLAIMER: It is the candidate’s responsibility to read and understand the legislation, or to seek appropriate legal or accounting advice from professionals as required. The candidate is responsible for ensuring that his or her campaign complies with all provincial laws.

Filing a Nomination Form

Form 4 - Nomination Form  Form 5 - Candidate Information Form

*Please note that these are provincially protected forms that cannot be opened in an internet browser.  To view the forms right-click, select "save link as", download to your personal computer, and open with Adobe Reader.

The nomination period for the 2021 general election begins on January 1, 2021 and runs until NOON on nomination day, which is Monday, September 20, 2021.

Candidates who seek nomination for school board trustee must complete Form 4 – Nomination Paper and Candidate’s Acceptance.  In addition, the candidate must also file Form 5 – Candidate Information.

Nominations must be signed by at least five electors. These electors must be residents of the school board on the date they signed the form, and they must be eligible to vote in the election.  As Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools has a ward system, the electors signing the nomination form must also be residents of the ward for which the candidate is being nominated.

Candidates can file their nomination papers with the returning officer by visiting Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools division office at 5515 - 47 A Avenue, Wetaskiwin, AB T9A 3S3 during regular business hours.  We encourage candidates to call 780-352-6018 to schedule an appointment time.  We are pleased to coordinate for candidates who schedule in advance:

  • Complimentary Commissioner of Oaths for Form 4 - Nomination Paper and Candidate's Acceptance.
  • Complimentary headshot photo for use in campaign and election materials.


Returning Officer:
Mrs. Sherri Senger

Substitute Returning Officer:
Mrs. Shannon Dewald