THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE WETASKIWIN SCHOOL DIVISION

BYLAW NO. 01-2020

ELECTORAL WARDS

Whereas section 76 of the *Education Act* provides that the board of a school division may by bylaw establish wards and provide for the nomination and election of trustees on the wards;

And whereas Bylaw No. 94/26 enacted in July 4, 1994 requires amendment

Now therefore, the Board of Trustees of the Wetaskiwin School Division hereby resolves that pursuant to section 76 of the *Education Act,* Bylaw No. 94/26 is hereby repealed and the boundaries of the wards referred to in Section 1 are described as follows:

1. The Board of Trustees shall be comprised of seven (7) trustees to be nominated and elected as follows:

WARD 1 One (1) Trustee

WARD 2 One (1) Trustee

WARD 3 One (1) Trustee

WARD 4 One (1) Trustee

WARD 5 Three (3) Trustees

- 2. Ward 1 shall be comprised of those lands that portion the County of Wetaskiwin No. 10 contained within the boundary as follows: commencing at the north east corner of the east boundary of the County of Wetaskiwin No. 10 thence south along the east boundary to the south boundary of the County; thence west along the south boundary to Highway 2; thence north along Highway 2 to the local road known as Hillside Road; thence east along the local road known as Hillside Road to the Secondary Highway 814; thence north along Secondary Highway 814 to the County boundary; thence east along the north boundary to the point of commencement.
- 3. Ward 2 shall be comprised of those lands that portion the County of Wetaskiwin No. 10 contained within the boundary as follows: commencing at the north east boundary of range 24 thence south along Secondary Highway 814 to the south east corner of the south east quarter of section 13; township 47, range 24, west of the 4th meridian; thence west along the local road known as Hillside Road to Highway 2; thence north along Highway 2 to the north boundary of the County; thence east along the north boundary to point of commencement.
- 4. Ward 3 shall be comprised of those lands that portion the County of Wetaskiwin No. 10 contained within the boundary as follows: commencing at the north east corner of the north west quarter of section 33, township 47, range 25, West of the 4th meridian and proceeding

south along Highway 2 to the south boundary of the County; thence west along the south boundary to Secondary Highway 771; thence north along Secondary Highway 771 to the south east corner of the northwest quarter of section 22, township 46, range 1, west of the 5th meridian; thence proceeding north along the west boundaries of sections 22 and 27, township 46, range 1, west of the 5th meridian; thence south easterly along Pigeon Lake boundary to the north east corner of the southeast quarter of section 13, township 46, range 1, west of the 5th meridian; thence south to the northwest corner of section 9, township 46, range 28, west of the 4th meridian; thence following the south, east and north boundaries of the Pigeon Lake Indian Reserve No. 138 A; thence north westerly along Pigeon Lake boundary to the southwest corner of the southeast quarter of section 14, township 47, range 1, west of the 5th meridian; thence north along the County boundary to the north boundary; thence east along the north boundary to the point of commencement.

- 5. Ward 4 shall be comprised of those lands that portion the County of Wetaskiwin No. 10 contained within the boundary as follows: commencing at the north east corner of the northeast quarter section 28, township 46, range 1, west of the 5th meridian proceeding south along the east boundaries of sections 28 and 21, township 46, range 1, west of the 5th meridian and continuing south along Secondary Highway 771 to the south boundary of the County; thence west along the southern boundary to the west boundary of the County; thence north along the western boundary to the north boundary of the County; thence east along the north boundary to Pigeon Lake; thence south easterly along the boundary of Pigeon Lake to the point of commencement.
- 6. Ward 5 shall be comprised of those lands lying within the City of Wetaskiwin.

As set out in section 76(2) of the *Education Act*, this bylaw shall take effect on the date of the next general election for the board.

Read a first, second, and by unanimous consent of all Trustees present, a third and final time this 22 day of September, 2020.