# **Board Highlights**

## Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools

Board Highlights May 12, 2020



### Board Members Lynn Ware, Chair Leanne Axelsen, Vice Chair Barb Johnson Karen Becker Randy Ermineskin Dave Gursky Rhonda Peters Jayne Pettifor



# WRPS Edwin Parr Nominees 2020

The Edwin Parr Award is annually awarded to one first year teacher in each zone of the Alberta School Boards' Association (ASBA), who has demonstrated excellence in teaching. Each school division nominates one candidate, and then a committee selects one of the candidates to receive the award for the zone. The Edwin Parr Award recipients are then recognized by ASBA Zone 4.

This year Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools had two nominees; Ms. Ryley Gallant, a Centennial School grade 5-6 teacher and Ms. Haley Oliver, Parkdale School Kindergarten teacher.

Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools is honored to recognize <u>Ryley Gallant</u> and <u>Haley Oliver</u> as our 2020 Edwin Parr nominees. The nomination is based on the outstanding skills, knowledge and attitudes and both nominees are very deserving. Ryley Gallant has been selected as the 2020 Edwin Parr Teacher Award nominee to represent the division at ASBA Zone 4.

### Board Approves Budget for 2020-2021

School Boards have until May 31, 2020 to submit their 2020-2021 school year budget to the Minister of Education. Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools has been operating in a deficit position for a number of years which has depleted the board's operating reserves. Needing to eliminate the operating deficit while allocating funds in the manner mandated in the new Provincial funding model has placed the Board of Trustees in a very difficult position. The new Provincial Funding Model has mandated changes to budget allocations plus, moving forward the Board will still face an additional \$550,000 funding reduction from Alberta Education in 2021-2022.

The 2020-2021 Approved Budget eliminates a number of subsidized programs and services but allows the Board to keep all schools open, this includes the reduction of 20.59 teaching positions and 56.03 support staff positions. In transportation services cost efficiencies will be implemented by reducing the number of bus routes and eliminating parent choice transportation in the City of Wetaskiwin. Queen Elizabeth School will follow the Regular School calendar as the Year Round Education has been eliminated. The French Immersion Program has also been eliminated, however while not offering French Immersion, Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools will explore interim language options for the 2020-21 school year.

## 2019-2020 School Year End

The School year calendar has been adjusted for June 2020. Students will complete school on Friday, June 5, 2020 for schools on the Modified Calendar, and Friday, June 19, 2020 for schools on the Regular and Year-Round calendar. This will allow teachers time to collect and mark any outstanding assignments and related school work during the week of June 8 - 12 in the Modified Calendar and June 22 - 26 in the Regular and Year-Round calendars. During that week teachers will also finalize student marks and assign a final grade for the student's report card.

Schools on the Modified Calendar are: Alder Flats, Winfield, Lakedell, Pipestone, Griffiths-Scott and Gwynne. All other schools are on the Regular or Year-Round calendars.