

## News Release

For immediate release: May 6, 2020

## Parkdale School Kindergarten Teacher Nominated for 2020 Edwin Parr Awards



Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools is pleased to announce that Haley Oliver, a Parkdale School ECS teacher, has been nominated for the 2020 Edwin Parr Teacher Award. The Edwin Parr Teacher Award recognizes first year teachers that demonstrate exemplary dedication and commitment in the field of Education.

Haley's teaching assignment was teaching the Kindergarten class.

"We are so fortunate to have Haley at Parkdale School" said Mrs. Sandra Wilson, Principal. "She is patient, kind, and able to meet the learning needs of all of the students. She works well as part of a team to ensure that students are getting the services and programming that is needed."

Haley obtained a Bachelor of Education Degree from The University of Alberta

When asked why she became a teacher Haley stated "I became a teacher because while growing up I was able to see how important the formative years are for children. I babysat a boy with a speech impediment and saw him develop his language skills with the help of his teacher and other professionals. It drove me to continue to work with children in a variety of environments and so becoming a teacher felt like a natural progression for my career. "

Each year, the Alberta School Board Association (ASBA) honors outstanding first-year teachers representing six zones throughout the province.

Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools is honored to recognize Haley Oliver as one of our 2020 Edwin Parr nominees. This nomination is based on the outstanding skills, knowledge and attitudes that first years teachers bring to their classroom and every day.

Congratulations Haley on being one of our 2020 Edwin Parr Teacher Award nominees for Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools.

## For further information contact:

Dr. Terry Pearson, Superintendent of Schools