

## News Release

For immediate release: May 5, 2020

## Centennial School Grade 5-6 Teacher Selected as WRPS's 2020 Edwin Parr Teacher Award Nominee



Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools is pleased to announce that Ryley Gallant, a Centennial School grade 5-6 teacher, has been selected as WRPS's 2020 Edwin Parr Teacher Award Nominee. The Edwin Parr Teacher Award recognizes first year teachers that demonstrate exemplary dedication and commitment in the field of Education.

Ryley's teaching assignment includes teaching grade five / six as well as miscellaneous coverage for teachers in grades 4-8.

"We are so fortunate to have Ryley at Centennial School" said Mr. David Luck, Principal. "She is enthusiastic and demonstrates a strong work ethic; she is well organized and plans engaging lessons that meet her students' needs."

When asked how she felt about being nominated, Ryley responded "I am so honoured and grateful for this nomination. It has been a difficult year for our school and it means so much to know that I have made a memorable contribution to our school community."

Ryley attained a Bachelor of Education Degree from the University of Alberta.

When asked why she became a teacher Ryley stated "I wanted to make a difference in people's lives and help students develop a love of learning. Growing up, I had phenomenal teachers that showed me that learning happens best through making meaningful connections. It is an honour to get the chance to be that person for my students. I can't imagine doing anything else."

Each year, the Alberta School Board Association (ASBA) honors outstanding first-year teachers representing six zones throughout the province. Ryley will be recognized as part of the ASBA Zone 4 Edwin Parr Awards.

"Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools is honored to recognize Ryley Gallant as our 2020 Edwin Parr nominee. Our nomination is based on the outstanding skills, knowledge and attitudes that Ryley brings to her classroom and students every day. We congratulate Ryley as the 2020 Edwin Parr Teacher Award nominee for the division" says Lynn Ware, Board Chair. "Her passion for teaching is evident and we wish her the very best in the years to come."

## For further information contact:

Dr. Terry Pearson, Superintendent of Schools

Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools