Board Highlights

Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools

Board Meeting Highlights September 10, 2019



Board Members
Lynn Ware, Chair
Leanne Axelsen, Vice Chair
Karen Becker
Randy Ermineskin
Dave Gursky
Barb Johnson
Rhonda Peters
Jayne Pettifor

Board Elects New Board Chair and Vice - Chair

The Board of Trustees held their Board Organizational meeting on September 10, 2019. The Board elected Trustee Lynn Ware as Chair and Trustee Leanne Axelsen as Vice-Chair. Trustees were appointed to committees as follows:

Board Advocacy Committee: All Trustees

Appreciation / Recognition Committee: Committee Chair: Peters, Representatives: Gursky, Johnson

Audit Committee: Chair - Johnson, Representatives: Ermineskin, Gursky

Board Development Planning Committee: Chair: Becker Representative: Ermineskin

City of Wetaskiwin / WRPS Joint Liaison Committee: Chair: Axelsen, Representative: Johnson.

Council of School Councils (COSC): Representatives: Axelsen, Becker

County of Wetaskiwin / WRPS Joint Liaison Committee: Committee Chair Becker, Representative: Trustee Peters

Human Resources ATA: Johnson Committee Chair; Representatives: Pettifor, and Ware

Human Resources Support/ Administration Staff: Committee Chair Becker, Representative: Gursky

Maskwacis Education Council: Ermineskin, Johnson, Peters

Teacher Board Advisory Committee (TBAC): Committee Chair Pettifor, Representatives: Becker and Axelsen

Town of Millet/ WRPS Joint Liaison Committee: Committee Chair Gursky, Representative: Johnson

Representative Appointments (As per Policy 9)

ASBA Zone 4 includes ASBALE: (1) Trustee + Alternate (1) others may attend Pettifor + Johnson

Canadian Parents for French (CPF): (1) Trustee Johnson

Wetaskiwin Community Learning Program - Further Education: (1) Trustee Pettifor

Edwin Parr Representative: (1) One Trustee as required Becker

Leaders of Tomorrow Representative: (1) Trustee Peters

Leadership Team: (2) Trustees: Peters and Axelsen

Public School Boards Association of Alberta: (1) Ware (1) Alternate: Johnson

Rural School Board Caucus: (1) Becker (1) Peters

Teacher Employer Bargaining Authority (TEBA): (1) Johnson (1) Pettifor Wetaskiwin / Ashoro Friendship Society: (1) Johnson (1) Alternate: Pettifor Yellowhead Regional Library: One (1) Gursky (1) Alternate: Ermineskin

School Council Representation:

Wetaskiwin Composite High School, École Parkdale School – Trustee: Leanne Axelsen Wetaskiwin Early Education and Family Wellness Centre, Norwood – Trustee: Johnson

Centennial, École Queen Elizabeth, - Trustee: Pettifor

Maskwacis Representative - Trustee: Ermineskin

Division 1: Gwynne, Clear Vista & Colony Schools - Trustee: Ware

Division 2: Griffith Scott - Trustee: Gursky

Division 3: Pigeon Lake, Falun, Pipestone & Lakedell - Trustee: Peters

Division 4: Alder Flats, Buck Mountain Central, Winfield & Lakedell - Trustee: Becker

Education Act Officially Changes All School Boards to Divisions

The Education Act, which came into effect on September 1, and officially changes all school boards to school "divisions." This change allows all entities to have consistent, maximum flexibility to determine their electoral boundaries and representation.

We can still continue to refer to ourselves as a "Public" board as part of our branding.

Our legal name will now be The Wetaskiwin School Division replacing Wetaskiwin Regional Division No. 11. Legally banking information and contracts will be updated over time. Our commonly used name will continue to be Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools.

For more information contact:

Dr. Terry Pearson, Superintendent of Schools terry.pearson@wrps11.ca

