

News Release

For immediate release: May 30, 2017

Teacher from Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools receives ASBA Zone 4 Edwin Parr Award

Chantelle Stewart, who teaches English and Math at Pigeon Lake Regional School, was chosen from among eight school divisions in Zone 4 for this year's Alberta School Boards Association Zone 4 'Edwin Parr Award'.

The annual Award recognizes teachers who are new to the profession who show significant promise in their first year. The Award was presented at an annual awards dinner, hosted this year by Chinook's Edge School Division.

"We are always so proud to acknowledge these talented teachers at the beginning of their careers," said Connie Huelsman, Zone 4 Chair. "Each of the eight nominees show such skill and professionalism, and each is committed to making a positive impact on students. They should all feel proud to be nominated by their School Boards for this award, and we congratulate this year's Edwin Parr Award recipient for Zone 4."

Zone 4 nominations included:

- Taylor Cahoon Battle River School Division
- Shelby Duncan Chinook's Edge School Division
- Aimee Roste-Clearview Public Schools
- Connor Borle Red Deer Catholic Regional Schools
- Joel Carroll Red Deer Public Schools
- Chantelle Stewart Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools
- Stefanie Denham Wild Rose School Division
- Kelsey Graham Wolf Creek Public Schools



From left to right, WRPS Staff:

- Superintendent Dr. Terry Pearson
- Trustee Lynn Ware
- Teacher Chantelle Stewart
- Pigeon Lake Principal Kris Denney
- Associate Superintendent Human Resources Rick Hayes

Edwin Parr was an Alberta homesteader who was involved in education for much of his adult life. He instituted the annual teacher award many years ago, and his legacy continues today. Each school board in Alberta may nominate one candidate for consideration at their zone level, and the Alberta School Boards Association then honours zone winners from across the province at their annual fall conference.

For further information contact:

Dr. Terry Pearson, Superintendent of Schools

Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools

www.wrps.ab.ca