

## News Release

For immediate release: April 18, 2017

## **Pigeon Lake Regional School Teacher Selected as WRPS's 2017 Edwin Parr Teacher Award Nominee**



Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools (WRPS) is pleased to announce that Chantelle Stewart, a Pigeon Lake Regional School teacher, has been selected to represent WRPS as our 2017 Edwin Parr Teacher Award Nominee. The Edwin Parr Teacher Award recognizes first year teachers who demonstrate exemplary dedication and commitment in the field of Education.

Chantelle's teaching assignment includes teaching Mathematics, English, Foods, and Agriculture at the junior high and high school levels. "Chantelle has a detailed understanding of different learning styles which is very evident in her teaching," said Principal Denney. "She tailors her lessons to the class she is teaching using different methodologies for different grade levels and subject areas. When a student is stuck on a concept she goes to the student's preferred style of learning to ensure the student understands."

Chantelle attained a Bachelor of Education Degree from University of Alberta. When asked why she became a teacher, Chantelle stated that, "My brother is special needs and so growing up with him gave me a new appreciation for education and a desire to be an advocate for students. I had amazing teachers who had a passion for what they taught and instilled a love for learning in me."

When asked why she loves teaching, Chantelle responded that "I love being able to build relationships with students and create a fun classroom environment where I try to have as much one-on-one time as possible so all students get the individualized help they need. I love seeing students have those light bulb moments where they understand the material."

Each year, the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) honors outstanding first-year teachers representing six zones throughout the province. Chantelle will be recognized at the Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools' Board Recognition night on May 12, 2017 and at the ASBA Zone 4 awards banquet held in Innisfail on May 29, 2017.

Superintendent Pearson stated that, "Chantelle exemplifies excellence in teaching, she is highly skilled, very empathetic and extremely dedicated to doing her best for her students." The District congratulates Chantelle as the 2017 Edwin Parr Teacher Award nominee for Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools and is inspired by her passion for teaching, wishing her the very best in her teaching career.

## For further information contact:

Dr. Terry Pearson, Superintendent of Schools