

News Release

For Immediate Release: May 19, 2015

WRPS Administrative Changes Effective for the Commencement of the 2015-2016 School Year

Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools (WRPS) is very pleased to announce the following administrative moves which will be effective for the 2015-2016 School year.

District Principal – Mrs. Jodie Mattia

Mrs. Jodie Mattia has been appointed as WRPS District Principal; her assignment will include the following portfolios: FNMI Coordinator, Behavior Intervention Coordinator and School Health Coordinator. Jodie joined the school division in 1994 and has taught in elementary, junior high and special education programs. She has worked as a school counselor at two schools and was the Vice Principal at Norwood School prior to being appointed Acting Principal at Rosebrier Community School in 2011. In 2012 Jodie returned to Norwood School where she has continued in the role of Principal and Division SCHEP Coordinator. Jodie received her Master's degree in Educational Psychology from the University of Alberta in 2005 and brings a wealth of experience and a high level of skill to this new position. Jodie will assume the role of District Principal effective September 1, 2015.

Norwood School Principal – Mr. Frank Heinrichs

Mr. Frank Heinrichs has been appointed as Principal of Norwood Elementary School. Mr. Heinrichs came to WRPS as Principal of the Griffiths-Scott Middle School in 2002, and has provided strong leadership, as well as the development of an inclusive school environment that is welcoming, caring respectful and safe. Mr. Heinrichs was instrumental in having Griffiths-Scott Middle School receive an "international UNESCO School" designation and looks forward to working with the Norwood Elementary School community. Mr. Heinrichs educational background includes a B.Ed 1989 and a Masters of Education in business computing in 1998. This opening was created when current Principal, Mrs. Jodie Mattia accepted the appointment of District Principal. Norwood Elementary School is located within the City of Wetaskiwin and has an enrollment of approximately 227 students.

Griffiths-Scott Middle School Principal – Mrs. Susan Coleman

Mrs. Susan Coleman, former Vice-Principal at Millet School has been appointed as Principal of Griffiths-Scott Middle School. Mrs. Coleman has taught at Millet School since 1995 and has been Vice-Principal since 2002. Susan's commitment to Millet School has been highlighted by her dedication to student learning and exceptional leadership. Susan has had the opportunity to connect with many students, parents and colleagues through her dedication to the Millet community. Susan's educational background includes a B.Ed from the University of Saskatchewan and a Masters of Education in Educational Administration and Leadership from the University of Alberta. This opening was created when current Griffiths-Scott Middle School Principal Mr. Frank Heinrich accepted the appointment of Principal at Norwood School. Griffiths-Scott Middle School is located within the Town of Millet and has approximately 122 students.

Millet School Vice-Principal – Mr. Chris Kirwan

Mr. Chris Kirwan has been appointed to the position of Vice-Principal at Millet School. Mr. Kirwan has taught at Clear Vista School since 2009, and has been in the role of Vice-Principal since 2011. Mr. Kirwan's commitment to Clear Vista School has been highlighted by a focus on technology learning and brings a wealth of experience and background. This opening was created when current Millet School Vice-Principal Susan Coleman accepted the appointment of Principal of Griffiths-Scott Middle School. Mr. Kirwan's educational background includes a combined B.Sc /B.Ed. degree from the University of Alberta, and further studies toward a Master of Education degree in Educational Leadership, which will be completed this summer. Millet School is located within the Town of Millet and has an enrollment of approximately 167 students.

CB McMurdo School Principal – Mr. Stu Wilson

Mr. Stu Wilson has been appointed as Principal of the CB McMurdo School. Stu has worked for Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools since 1992. He began teaching at Rosebrier School and became vice-principal at Clear Vista in 2008. As well Mr. Wilson spent one year as Acting Principal at the Norwood Elementary School. Stu will assume the duties as Principal at CB McMurdo School effective August 1, 2015. This position became available when Mr. Mike Daly accepted a new position at the Clear Vista School. C.B. McMurdo School is located within the City of Wetaskiwin and has an approximate enrollment of 149 students.

Clear Vista School Vice-Principal – Mr. Mike Daly

Mr. Mike Daly has been appointed to Clear Vista School as Vice-Principal. Mr. Daly joined the school division in 2007 as a teacher at Griffiths-Scott Middle School he was appointed Vice Principal at C.B. McMurdo School in 2012 and then Principal of CB McMurdo School since 2013. Mr. Daly brings a wealth of experience and high level of skill in many areas for which he will be responsible for. He is a strong advocate for year-round education and his strong leadership has impacted the students and parents in C.B. McMurdo School. Mr. Daly's educational background includes a B.Sc in Psychology, B.Ed in Elementary Education and a Masters in Education in Multidisciplinary Leadership. Clear Vista is a K-9 school located within the City of Wetaskiwin and has an approximate enrollment of 535 students.

Buck Mountain Central School Principal – Mrs. Melissa Humby

Mrs. Melissa Humby has been appointed as Principal at the Buck Mountain Central School. Melissa is a student focused educational leader who brings a strong commitment to the development of students and staff. Melissa has taught at Buck Mountain Central School since 2005 and was Vice-Principal since 2012. Mrs. Humby's educational background includes a B.Sc. from Dalhousie University in Nova Scotia (2003), B.Ed. from Acadia University, Wolfville, Nova Scotia (2005) and a M. Ed. in Leadership and School Improvement from the University of Alberta (2012). In September of 2014 Melissa was assigned to be the Acting Principal at the Buck Mountain Central School. Having completed a very successful year it is our pleasure to announce that Melissa will continue in the role of Principal of Buck Mountain Central School. Buck Mountain Central School is a Grade 7-12 School located in the west end of the County of Wetaskiwin with an enrollment of approximately 177 students.

For further information contact:

Rick Hayes

Associate Superintendent: Personnel 780-352-6018 Email: hayesr@wrps.ab.ca

Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools

www.wrps.ab.ca