

News Release

For immediate release: March 27, 2013

Buck Mountain Central School Educator Selected as WRPS's 2013 Edwin Parr Teacher Award Nominee

Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools is pleased to announce that, Nicole Townsend Buck Mountain Central School teacher has been selected as WRPS's 2013 Edwin Parr Teacher Award Nominee. The Edwin Parr Teacher Award recognizes first year teachers that demonstrate exemplary dedication and commitment in the field of Education.

"I feel very honored to be nominated for the Edwin Parr Teacher Award" says Nicole. "This nomination solidifies my career choice and is also a credit to all of the people who have supported and guided me in doing so!"

Nicole's teaching assignment includes Math 10-C, 20-1, 30-1, Physics 20, Physics 30, Health 9 and Computers 9. Nicole coached the Sr. Girls Basketball team, and is also on the diploma prep committee and helps to coach Sr. High Badminton.



"Nicole is a caring, innovative and extremely skilled teacher" says Lyle Fittes, Buck Mountain Central School Principal. "She has brought enthusiasm and a passion for teaching that is evident every day and in every class she teaches. Nicole is a student-centered educator who believes strongly in students taking ownership for their own learning and where the role of the teacher is a facilitator of learning and a coach."

When asked what she enjoys most about being a teacher, Nicole says "the chance to pay it forward and impact lives as much as my teachers did for me."

Nicole attended post-secondary studies at the University of Alberta and received her Bachelor of Education and Bachelor of Science degrees. Nicole attributes her career choice to, "Always having high educational values in addition to great role models. My teachers, in addition to my parents have always instilled in me the confidence to achieve my goals which is why I am incredibly passionate about teaching. Knowing that I have the opportunity each day to be this type of role model for any student of mine is truly inspiring."

Each year, the Alberta School Board Association (ASBA) honors outstanding first-year teachers representing six zones throughout the province. Nicole will be recognized at the Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools Board Recognition night on May 10, 2013 and at the ASBA Zone 4 awards banquet.

"On behalf of Wetaskiwin Regional Public School Division, we congratulate Nicole as the 2013 Edwin Parr Teacher Award nominee for the division" says Deanna Specht, Board Chair. "We are grateful for the service and dedication Nicole has demonstrated in her first year of teaching. She keeps students engaged and pushes them to reach their full potential, while at the same time striving to improve her teaching strategies. Her passion for education is contagious and we wish her the very best in the years to come."

For further information contact:

Dr. Terry Pearson, Superintendent of Schools

Wetaskiwin Regional Public Schools

www.wrps.ab.ca